drawn from Psalm 50, part 2

A Holy Rebuke

Deborah Beach Giordano
© September 27, 2009

But to the wicked God speaks
fiery words of warning,
a harsh trumpet blast against
their citadels of smug confidence,

“You set My teachings aside,
ignoring My demands for justice,
scorning My calls for peace,
and abusing My people.

“Your hearts are full of hatred
and your mouths speak words of deceit,
you spend your days plotting
ways to scam and steal and cheat.

“Do you think I will not notice?
Do you think I cannot see?
Do you think I can be bought
or bribed or conned?

“I am the Lord God Almighty,
and I will not be mocked;
if you betray My people,
you are betraying Me.

“My patience is wearing thin,
though I long for your repentance
like a watchman yearns for the dawn,
My justice must prevail.

“Those who love Me show it richly
through their love for one another,
and their care for My creation
that fills My heart with joy.

“They have found the Road to Paradise
and are already on their way
for them the search is over
they are headed straight to Me.”

About inklingscommunity

I am a struggling Christian, committed pacifist, near-obsessive recycler, incurable animal lover, inveterate tree-hugger; a nature mystic, a socialized introvert, an advocate for the vulnerable, an opponent of exploiters.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

